An eye for an eye

An eye for an eye was a secular temporal law and never meant as a personal injunction for an individual conscience, for vengeance belongs solely to the Lord and to forbear or to use it. This was a law for the Israelites to follow: an eye for an eye, a physical law underpinning a universal truth underneath it about fairness and Justice, for did not Jesus say that you will not be released until you have paid every last penny? The context is different in both cases, but the universal truth underlying it is the same.

The mathematical laws were not made to be applied to a book containing the wisdom of God revealed throuigh human authors.

I’m still seeking for answers. Not everything I read in the OT makes me comfortable, but I do find if I put some effort and prayer into it there is an agreement between the old and the new.

Would the Master, Jesus, who so clearly loves us say this:
Do not think that I am come to destroy the law, or the prophets. I am not come to destroy, but to fulfill. Matthew 5
For amen I say unto you, till heaven and earth pass, one jot, or one tittle shall not pass of the law, till all be fulfilled. "

if he were a trickster? He told us our yes to mean yes, so He is pointing out some serious truths in the OT that are important for us to follow Him better.

I thought about that Isaiah passage and when I studied it I was blown away at the mercy–yes mercy of God who acknowleges the terrible suffering and devastation of sin and acknowleges his permissive will as reality groans under the weight of sin and innocents suffer for others free will rejection of God’s love. Could we worship a God who pretends that the ugliness of reality does not exist? I don’t want a God of my own wish fulfillment. That He, the Father, warned us in the OT, that He acknowleges this world and how sin kindles wrath leaves with me an important message on the terrible damage of sin, the frightening damage of sin, the proper fear of the Lord, to offend such a Holy God, Who gave us everything Who sustains our very existence by His will, our Father through Jesus.

This world looks a lot more like the OT than the NT if you look at it. Maybe the OT has something to offer us is what I am thinking. Not as a Koran like dogmatic formula, but as books of divinely inspired wisdom.

God bless us on our searches. 

Leave a Reply

