Hell

 
"Oh my Jesus, forgive us our sins, save us from the fires of hell and lead all souls to heaven, especially those most in need of thy mercy"  –a prayer from fatima that I always pray when I am praying my Rosary.
 
A state of mind is a place. Turning away from God is putting oneself in a bad place. Turning toward God is putting oneself in a good place.

I’ve got to live by faith.  When I read of all these "definitive" interpretations of scripture and the Bible I get uncomfortable. Words have many meanings. I look to the Catechism for guidance and avoid ideas that try to be more specific about Scripture and Tradition than what Scripture and Tradition actually state–which is always filtered through our imperfect intelligences anyway.

 
God wills all men to be saved.  To have love, though, neccesitates free will and the possibility that love will be rejected.
 
I believe in the Divine Mercy.  I believe Jesus calls out to souls at the end.
 
The Church canonizes Saints, but makes no defintive statement of who may or may not be in hell and I trust in God’s mercy, but I also do not presume on God’s mercy.
Leave a Reply

